Monday, November 28, 2011

Drifting House by Krys Lee

I received a book in the mail today. The cover captured my attention. Reading the summary, the seriousness captured my thoughts. Its a story of Korea. Of the famine and the children. I can tell that this story is going to be really heart wrenching.

The summary is as follows:
"An unflinching portrayal of the Korean immigrant experience from an extraordinary new talent in fiction.

Spanning Korea and the United States, from the postwar era to contemporary times, Krys Lee's stunning fiction debut, Drifting House, illuminates a people torn between the traumas of their collective past and the indignities and sorrows of their present.

In the title story, children escaping famine in North Korea are forced to make unthinkable sacrifices to survive. The tales set in America reveal the immigrants' unmoored existence, playing out in cramped apartments and Koreatown strip malls. A makeshift family is fractured when a shaman from the old country moves in next door. An abandoned wife enters into a fake marriage in order to find her kidnapped daughter.

In the tradition of Chang-rae Lee's Native Speaker and Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies, Drifting House is an unforgettable work by a gifted new writer."

I am really looking forward to the release of this book. It will be released in Feb. 2012. If you would like the book, please contact me!

Love always,

No comments:

Post a Comment